The Design Gives | Impostor Syndrome

Chase A. Morris
2 min readNov 24, 2020

--

A person sits by a wide river surrounded by trees on very cloudy day in Washington State.
Typeface: Chalkboard | Explore: FCQ7+84 Rockport, Washington

Charles Dawson (1889–1981) One of Chicago’s leading black artists and designers

Monitor, Monitor on the desk
Why do I feel so grotesque?
There I was in front of the room
Clicking through the happy path while the grey cloud loom

Even though I got the job
My thoughts keep turning as if someone’s hand is on the knob
To the door that hides the fact
That I am not sure I was built for this act

Monitor, Monitor on the desk
Why do I feel so grotesque?
The years I put in surely suggest
That I can design and figure out what is best

Maybe if I learn more, I can compare
To those next to me in their chair
So which Udemy, Linkedin or SkillShare course
Shall I take to reinforce
The door that hides the fear
That while I act part the I do not believe I belong here

Designer, Designer in the chair
This unfounded fear is quiet unfair
Recall all you were taught
Rely on those who were once in your spot

Accept what is not known
And remember what your success has shown
Overcoming wicked problems
Requires the tools you have which shall solve them

-Chase Morris

--

--